A Burger State of Mind

This year, to celebrate its 10th Birthday, Shake Shack invited some of the best chefs for a collaboration, and asked them to create their own burgers.  David Chang, with his shrimp burger, caused a four hour line up at the original Shack in Madison Square Park. Cov

This past Sunday, the London branch of Shake Shack in Covent Garden made Massimo Bottura’s Emilia Burger available for the people of London for one day only.  So, I had to go (I mean, how could I not?).   I made my way to Covent Garden about 45 minutes before the opening, to try to avoid any massive lines (I was one of the first 15 I’d say).  We received a small bottle of balsamic vinegar that Massimo used to make the balsamic mayo for his burger.  Okay, enough with my shit writing.  Let’s get on to the burger and the photos.

DSC_1355
The Emilia burger.  100% Aberdeen Angus beef patty ground with cotechino sausage and parmigiano reggiano, topped with salsa verde and Villa Manodori balsamic mayonnaise.  It was messy.  It was good, but it was still messy.  The salsa verde, was as Massimo said, “key” because it cut through everything and cleaned your palate.  I also got a cheeseburger (with everything) to compare with, and personally, I preferred the original (I’m a sucker for the classics).

DSC_1374
Copies of Massimo’s book “Never Trust A Skinny Italian Chef” were sold and available for signing as well (One for me, one for my head chef, and one for my Italian mate from Modena).

DSC_1405 DSC_1398Before the day was over, Massimo took it upon himself to award Mark Rosati, the food director of Shake Shack, (I’d kill…or give up pizza and fried chicken, my favorite foods  to have his job) three Michelin stars (note Mark’s whites). All in all it was a morning and afternoon (and 100 quid) well spent. Man I love Shake Shack.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

